Broad Street Angel

The Ukrop’s Monument Avenue 10k is such a Richmond experience and I have been fortunate to run it twice and photograph it a bunch of other times. Every year I try to capture photos that are different than the year before, and I wanted to post one of my favorites from this past Saturday. As I was looking for pre-race features I noticed this angel walking quickly by me. I never saw her face, but with the early morning light and the expanse of Broad St. in front of her, plus the looks on other runners faces as she passed by, that was my shot. The photo ran in Sunday’s paper and I received a message Sunday afternoon from the angel herself. As it turns out, she is a jewel of a woman who I have met before and who always sends the RTD photographers the most heartfelt and complimentary notes. In her note she told me she was dressed as an angel to symbolize “all of the angels on earth who’ve been there for us with the passing of my husband on Valentine’s Day.” My thoughts and prayers are with her and her children and I wanted to share the photo because I feel like it captures a little of her beautiful bright spirit.

Photo by Eva Russo

All photos @ Richmond Times-Dispatch

The postings on this site are my own and don’t necessarily represents the positions, strategies or opinions of the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

Leave a Reply

